

Draft Solid Waste Committee Terms of Reference (changes highlighted)

1. Background:

- 1.1 The Peace River Regional District (PRRD) developed a Regional Solid Waste Management Plan that was approved in 2009 and is being amended in 2020-2021. The current 2009 Plan addresses three key areas:
 - a. Greater efficiency of programs and services.
 - b. Greater focus on reducing, reusing, and recycling to protect our environment.
 - c. Greater focus on sustainable management to protect future generations.

2. Role of the Committee:

2.1 With the understanding that Solid Waste Management is a regional function and represents our largest single budget item; the goals of the Solid Waste Committee (SWC) is to act as an advisory committee for the Regional District solid waste management function and identify concerns and issues that may arise.

3. Structure of the Solid Waste Committee:

- 3.1 Members: The SWC will consist of five (5) six (6) Board members as appointed by the Chair and will consist of:
 - i. Director from the City of Dawson Creek, or alternate director;
 - ii. Director from the City of Fort St. John, or alternate director;
 - iii. Director or alternate director from one additional municipality in the South Peace (District of Chetwynd, or Village of Pouce Coupe or District of Tumbler Ridge), to serve for a period of 2 years;
 - iv. Director or alternate director from one additional municipality in the North Peace (District of Hudson's Hope or District of Taylor), to serve for a period of 2 years;
 - v. Director or alternate director from Electoral Area 'B' or 'C', to serve for a period of 2 years;
 - vi. Director or alternate director from Electoral Area 'D' or 'E', to serve for a period of 2 years;
 - vii. PRRD Board Chair, as ex-officio member;
 - viii. Appropriate Regional District staff person non-voting.

Special Note: To provide opportunity for all Board members to serve on the Committee during an election cycle, membership listed under sections 3.1 iii through vi will rotate out after two years. For example, Area B and District of Hudson's Hope could serve until 2022 then Area C and District of Taylor can take over those two positions in 2024. Further, Area E and District of Chetwynd could serve in 2021 and Area D and District of Pouce Coupe could take over in 2023, followed by District of Tumbler Ridge in 2025.

- 3.2 The meetings will be chaired by a Committee member elected by the Committee participants on an annual basis.
- 3.3 In the absence of the Chair, a member elected Vice-Chair by the Committee on an annual basis will chair the meetings.

4. Meetings:

- 4.1 The Committee shall meet on a monthly basis, on the first Thursday of every month as included in the annual adoption of a Board meeting schedule;
- 4.2 Meetings will be open to the public;
- 4.3 Items for the regular agenda must be provided to Administration one (1) week prior to the scheduled meeting;
- 4.4 The PRRD Board Chair will be given a copy of all Committee meeting agendas;
- 4.5 The Committee has the authority to reschedule meetings or call special committee meetings when required.

5. Procedures:

- 5.1 Quorum at least one-half of the members of the Committee;
- 5.2 Voting all options and recommendations shall be determined by majority vote, with recommendations and options being forwarded to the Regional Board for consideration and action.

Date Committee Established		Board Resolution #	
Date TOR Approved by Board	May 26, 2016	Board Resolution #	RD/16/05/20 (26)
Amendment Date	XXX-XX, 2020	Board Resolution #	XX/XX/XX/XX (XX)
Amendment Date		Board Resolution #	
Amendment Date		Board Resolution #	